Election of LGA President

Strategic Alignment - Enabling Priorities

Tuesday, 11 October 2022 Council

Program Contact:

Jessica Dillon, Acting Manager Governance

Approving Officer:

Amanda McIlroy - Chief Operating Officer

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Clinton Jury, Chief Executive Officer of the Local Government Association of South Australia (LGA) has written to the Chief Executive Officer to advise of nominations received for the position of LGA President and requests that Council casts its vote.

Nominees are:

Public

- Mayor Keith PARKES (Alexandrina Council)
- Mayor Caroline PHILLIPS (District Council of Karoonda East Murray)
- Mayor Brett BENBOW (Port Augusta City Council)
- Mayor Bill O'BRIEN (Light Regional Council)
- Mayor Erika VICKERY OAM (Naracoorte Lucindale Council)

The completed ballot form must be received by the LGA by 5:00pm Monday 17 October 2022.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT COUNCIL

- 1. Approves that the ballot paper be marked in accordance with Council's resolution to vote for one of the following nominees:
 - 1.1. Mayor Keith PARKES (Alexandrina Council)
 - 1.2. Mayor Caroline PHILLIPS (District Council of Karoonda East Murray)
 - 1.3. Mayor Brett BENBOW (Port Augusta City Council)
 - 1.4. Mayor Bill O'BRIEN (Light Regional Council)
 - 1.5. Mayor Erika VICKERY OAM (Naracoorte Lucindale Council)

IMPLICATIONS AND FINANCIALS

City of Adelaide 2020-2024 Strategic Plan	Strategic Alignment – Enabling Priorities This report supports the Strategic Plan action of building on effective advocacy and partnerships locally, nationally and globally.
Policy	Not as a result of this report
Consultation	In preparation for voting, Council members have been advised of the election and provided with candidate information via E-news.
Resource	Not as a result of this report
Risk / Legal / Legislative	Not as a result of this report
Opportunities	Participation in the election of the LGA President for the next two year term provides an opportunity for Council to contribute to decision making on matters relevant to the local Government sector.
22/23 Budget Allocation	Not as a result of this report
Proposed 23/24 Budget Allocation	Not as a result of this report
Life of Project, Service, Initiative or (Expectancy of) Asset	Not as a result of this report
22/23 Budget Reconsideration (if applicable)	Not as a result of this report
Ongoing Costs (eg maintenance cost)	Not as a result of this report
Other Funding Sources	Not as a result of this report

DISCUSSION

- 1. Clinton Jury, Chief Executive Officer of the Local Government Association of South Australia (LGA) has advised that nominations have been received for the following candidates for the position of LGA President:
 - 1.1. Mayor Keith PARKES (Alexandrina Council)
 - 1.2. Mayor Caroline PHILLIPS (District Council of Karoonda East Murray)
 - 1.3. Mayor Brett BENBOW (Port Augusta City Council)
 - 1.4. Mayor Bill O'BRIEN (Light Regional Council)
 - 1.5. Mayor Erika VICKERY OAM (Naracoorte Lucindale Council)
- 2. A copy of each of the candidate's profiles can be viewed at Link 1 view here.
- 3. Correspondence seeking Council's support has been received from the following candidates:
 - Mayor Keith PARKES (Alexandrina Council) [Link 2 view here].
 - 3.2. Mayor Erika VICKERY OAM (Naracoorte Lucindale Council) [Link 3 view here].
 - Mayor Bill O'BRIEN (Light Regional Council) [Link 4 view here].
- 4. In accordance with the LGA Constitution the casting of the vote by Council must be conducted as follows:
 - 4.1. Council shall determine by resolution the candidate it wishes to elect.
 - 4.2. Council's appointed delegate (the Lord Mayor) or, in the absence of the delegate, the person chairing the Council meeting shall mark the ballot paper with an "X" next to the candidate that Council wishes to be elected.
 - 4.3. The marked ballot paper must be sealed in the envelope labelled 'Ballot Paper' and then placed inside the second envelope labelled 'Returning Officer'. Before sealing the second envelope the delegate must write City of Adelaide on the inside flap of the envelope. The second envelope may then be sealed and delivered to the Returning Officer.
- 5. The completed ballot paper must be delivered to the LGA by 5:00pmn on Monday 17 October 2022.
- 6. The counting of votes will take place on Tuesday 18 October 2022 commencing at 9:30 am and will be broadcast via Zoom.
- 7. The successful candidate will take office from the conclusion of the LGA's 2022 Annual General Meeting for a term ending at the conclusion of the 2024 LGA Annual General Meeting.

DATA AND SUPPORTING INFORMATION

- **Link 1** Candidate profiles
- Link 2 Correspondence from Mayor Keith Parkes seeking support
- Link 3 Correspondence from Mayor Erika Vickery OAM seeking support
- Link 4 Correspondence from Mayor Bill O'Brien seeking support

ATTACHMENTS

Nil

- END OF REPORT -